Skip to main content

Remove a subject from a group workstep

Steps to remove an incorrectly added subject from a group workstep, and when removal isn't possible.

J
Written by Jennie Willson

You can remove a subject from a group-enabled workstep using the bin icon next to their name in the subjects table. This is useful if a subject has been added to the workstep by mistake. You'll need edit access to the workstep to do this.

Remove a subject

  1. Open the subjects table on the workstep.

  2. Click the bin icon next to the subject you want to remove.

  3. Confirm the removal when prompted.


When you can't remove a subject

In some cases, the bin icon isn't shown next to a subject. This happens when:

  • The workstep is read-only.

  • The subject was added to the workstep through a workflow next action or a workflow merge. This mainly applies to worksteps after the initiating workstep, as subjects on an initiating workstep are usually added manually.

In other cases, the bin icon is shown, but you'll see a message explaining why the subject can't be removed if you try. This happens when:

  • The subject is the only subject on the workstep.

  • The subject is included in a multi-subject table or a multi-subject repeating sub-section.

  • The subject is included in a next action, whether the next action has been proposed or already sent.

📌 Note: If removing a subject leaves only one subject on the workstep, the workstep remains a group workstep. Group worksteps can be recorded against a single subject if the workstep started as a group.

Did this answer your question?